About the A-Bike Where to Buy Reviews Forum A-BIKE CENTRAL
Home Page
Gallery & Videos Sinclair Bikes History Other Folding Bikes A-Bike News (Blog)

Amsterdam A-Biker

Chat about your A-Bike, post details of your exploits, ask advice from other owners, etc.

Moderators: Binch Shin, newcross, Amuro Lee

Amsterdam A-Biker

Postby Artefex on Wed Jun 17, 2009 12:45 pm

Hello All,

Bought my Abike about a month ago and have been riding it almost every day (When its not raining) for its intended purpose, a combined bus and bike journey to work.

So far I have not had any major problems with it, but I think it is clear from the many posts that the ABike is not quite a perfect product. However, as I am an engineer I recognised it as a fundamentaly ingenious design the first time I saw it and the challenge of modifying and improving it is part of the fun.

I have only made some minor adjustments so far but will post them and any future mods here.
ABike.jpg
ABike.jpg (48.81 KiB) Viewed 43149 times

So far the biggest change I have made is to completely remove the front brake. I felt it was unnecesary and more likely to throw you off the bike if used to stop quickly. The front wheel now runs more smoothly without the brake rubbing against it. I also found that over tightening the front wheel bolt also stops it spinning freely. If you adjust the tension on the bolt there is a point where it is tight enough not to come loose and there is no resistance on the wheel.

The small wheels and low weight of the Abike mean that it doesnt pick up much momentum (For example if you go down a dip in the road there is not enough momentum to carry you up the other side like a normal bike), so removing any sources of friction helps.

I also found that, no matter how much I adjusted it, the bolt on the rear brake pad was rubbing on the tire and making a groove in the rubber. I solved this problem by removing the bolt and replacing it the other way around, (as shown compared to the original):