About the A-Bike Where to Buy Reviews Forum A-BIKE CENTRAL
Home Page
Gallery & Videos Sinclair Bikes History Other Folding Bikes A-Bike News (Blog)

Brake cable mystery........

Chat about your A-Bike, post details of your exploits, ask advice from other owners, etc.

Moderators: Binch Shin, newcross, Amuro Lee

Brake cable mystery........

Postby miguel on Tue Sep 19, 2006 6:10 pm

Hi again, I took my A-Bike to the regular Thursday night booze up of the Bristol Mountain bike Club recently, it received a lot of attention as the guys and gals took turns riding it up and down the pavement. One of my friends returned looking apologetic and pointed out that the rear brake cable had gone slack when he pulled it so I folded it up and didnt use it for a couple of weeks. I contacted A-Bike technical dept who in turn Emailed the designer. They couldnt establish what had happened and recommended a strip down. Im a qualified cycle mechanic so felt confident that I was capable of fixing it, took it to the workshop (garden shed) unfolded it to begin working on it and discovered that the brake was working. Perfectly................hmmm. Witchcraft obviously.

Having ridden the bike more since my last post I have come to the conclusion that the stock A bike 'seat' was designed for space aliens behinds so I am keen to try a modification in this department. The seat post is also way too short for comfortable pedaling. Im wondering if such modification will invalidate the warranty as it is inevitable that there will be more weight and leverage applied to the seat area as Im borderline legal body weight to ride the bike in swimming trunks and flip flops.

Regards, Mick.
miguel

just don't tell them ;-)

Postby Garry on Tue Sep 19, 2006 9:07 pm

Hi Mick